Discipline Global MobileKing CrimsonRobert FrippThe VicarTour DatesDiariesnav_catalogNewsAccountsForumShopSearch Archives
  Fripp & Eno Diaries and Reviews Login | Register | Help

 
Previous Item   May 28, 1975  Next Item SOUND  VISION WORD
    Olympia    Paris, France
 

 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsA Radical Representative of Pinsnip   February 9, 2014
Written by microbunny

At a Secret Fripp and Eno Live In Paris?


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsWhen?   January 15, 2014
Written by msmusich
PLEASE....I do not want a download....I want the CD! Please when can I buy this CD?

The Old Fan


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 stars   December 22, 2012
Written by SeanStephensen
Looking forward to the CD release! Any idea what part of 2013 we can expect it in?


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 stars   July 30, 2012
Written by Siward

Sid - I’ve just downloaded this and agree with everyone else that it is miraculous! Many thanks indeed. I just wanted to ask, though, has the cd release been put back or abandoned? I’d like to get the cd as well, and just want to know whether I should look out for it ...

Siward

Hi there Siward,

the CD edition is still planned though the date has yet to be confirmed. We'll make an announcement on the news page but in all probability, we are looking at next year now.

Sid


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsCD Version   February 24, 2012
Written by carnosouls

Sirs,

I was wondering when/if the CD version of this would be coming out.  I’m really looking forward to it.

Thanks for everything,

Mike Bennett / Zimiamvian Night

Hi Mike,
sadly there's no release date set for the CD version at the moment. When there is, it'll be announced through the news page.

Best wishes

Sid


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsA Dream Come True   July 22, 2011
Written by Squonkamatic
Thank you so much for making this selection available. It has been a dream come true to hear, re-hear and get to know the spellbinding music presented in this compilation. You have never heard anything like this before. The two Fripp & Eno studio albums are the departure point for what your ears will witness. For my ears the big payoff were the feedback distortion fueled monstrosity "An Iron Frappe", its followup "Softly Gun Poison", and a snarling, nasty bit of musique concrete aptly titled "A Darn Psi Inferno". Though I will come clean and admit the tracks I come back to the most are the loop-only selections, particularly "Wind On Water", which sounds like the full-length loop edited down to what is heard on the "Evening Star" album.

Was any film or video of these events captured? If so you guys gotta get them out. Just amazing.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsIt drones on and on and on...   February 9, 2011
Written by gregjames
… Wonderfully... Remarkably...

Crimheads often delve in counterfactual history and muse about such topics as “What if the ’69 band stayed together and did another album?” or “What if Ian Mac rejoined the band after Red and Crim kept going…?”. After listening to this recording compulsively for the last month, the question I’m pondering is “What if Crimson continued after Red with Brian Eno in the band?”.

Well, this is as close an answer as I’m going to get. A stunning document of an utterly unique and powerful performance. For a night of pure improv, this concert ranks comfortably with the final night of ProjeKct 1, P2 in Pittsburgh, the P6 compilation and (gasp!) even ProjeKct 4’s first night in Boulder - arguably the best of the noisy downloads available on this site.

From what I understand, it was a small miracle that this concert happened at all and another one that such a fine record of it is available. Excellent work DGM. Oh, and I love the track titles - the most ridiculous ones to date - perfect!


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsTowering Tape-delay Extacy   February 1, 2011
Written by Blackwater

I have been a great fan of both Fripp and Eno for over thirty years becoming hooked when I aquired a second hand copy of ’No Pussyfooting’ from a friend who thought it was ’crap’.  This friend also attended a London show by the duo and assured me, indeed the performance was ’crap’.  More recently another friend who attended the self same show confirmed with a snear of disgust ’Yes!  They were crap!  Pretentious crap at that!’ 

I have listened to this album only once so far; on a long drive in my car.  I can appreciate why some people might think music like this is ’crap’, but given the musical inclinations of said friends, I suspect it has more to do with a failure to like anything that does not fit into the strict parameters of what is ’normal’ to them.   (They also assure me that ALL modern music is ’crap’; a point of view I thought could only be associated with our parents generation.  Clearly some peoples musical brains cut out automatically when they reach a certain age) 

This album is utterly stunning.  It gives a unique and long hidden insight into the evolution of ’Frippertronics’ and the later ’Soundscapes’ whilst remaining unique in itself.  The music ranges from the light and whispy alure of ’Wind On Water’ to some of the most demonic guitar playing ever commited to tape.  Fripp astounds me.  He has always been completely unlike any other player I have heard and this album captures his forthright experimentation perfectly.

’Crap?’  Well, these guys have influenced generations of musicians.  As for my friends assesment?  I just feel sorry for them.  What a dull musical world it would be without music like this to challenge and stimulate the brian cells.   


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsAn Index of Anagrams   January 20, 2011
Written by keeves

Soft Gun Poison is of course No Pussyfooting.

Here is a sanitised version of a bootleg I was unaware of and the fairy dust must be a good batch because this might have been recorded last week.

The sounds are something to marvel at with Fripp still using some of the styles and effects from Larks Tongues Crimson, some of the sounds used in We’ll Let You Know with RF manipulating the wah pedal and holding it ’mid-sweep’ to create sounds you might get from a Parametric Equalizer. His solo tones are  more diverse than the Evening Star album - and very eerie when played over the childrens voices.

I am playing this everywhere - car, gym, kitchen, because in my humble opinion it is easily as good as Evening Star, and of course very different, as well ye may expect from such a great improvisation duo.

I cannot imagine how this material was ever ’booed’. oh, and...is there any more???

 

 


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsMoney ?   January 12, 2011
Written by hyenae
At long last it seems time to ponder the interaction between exchange of money and the purchasing of a product online, something I had vowed never to do, being penniless, and a disbeliever in electronic fund transfers. The dark day has come, I must purchase what is deemed the Audio of a performance by Fripp and Eno, which I see more a part of my subconscious soundscape, than anything owned by any one fiscal entity, ... alas, people will be mustered, plans will be made, the product shall be purchased. ( although dreaming of the concert from the snippets of  previews bated here may be even more entertaining, soul ful, fulfilling ) Hurrah, my spirits lift !


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsHeavenly Gun Poison   January 10, 2011
Written by mattsg

As others have already stated, this landmark release is a real treat.  Compared to the previously available boots, the sound is vastly improved and the bonus loops are like having a third Frappe & Iron studio album from 1975.  Keep up the great work DGM!

 

Thank you!


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsFinal Release Discount?   January 10, 2011
Written by Carnamagos
"A CD edition is planned for release later in 2011." I hope that DGM plans to provide the CD at a discount for those of us who have downloaded the material at this time. That said, one can hardly blame those of us who cannot wait. Fripp & Eno-philes must not miss this!


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsThank You   January 10, 2011
Written by donhenson
The bootleg I have listened to for years cannot come close to this. What a wonderful way to start the new year. That this document exists at all is the most amazing thing. Powerful music that has not aged in any way. I love the anagram titles as well. A Near Find In Rip Pop=Fripp And Eno Pari!! My sincere gratitude for this release.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsA Fender Prove I'll Pun   January 9, 2011
Written by Mr_Dapto
Softy Gun Poison = No Pussyfooting.

The music is a delight too!


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 stars   January 9, 2011
Written by Sean_Hollenhors
Having lived with this set for about a week now, I can safely say that this collection contains some of my favorite sounds ever produced. Mr. Fripp and Mr. Eno straight bring the heat. I love how the crowd hoots and hollers and whistles add an additional texture to the proceedings. I’ve been listening to Crimso ’69 performances and there is a similarity with the Olympia show, in that, time seems to suspended in the performance space.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 stars Review: Fripp & Eno - May 28, 1975 - Paris   January 9, 2011
Written by keebs6666
Awesome Buy this!


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsJoy, near perfection...   January 8, 2011
Written by johnemr
After recently witnessing all four of the WFC performances by this Fripp, I’m loving this release.  I am an attendee of all of the early NYC Frippertronics gigs, and even, through the haze of years and drugs remember a private performance in a loft (can it be confirmed?) in Soho, 1977 or 78.   I have long savored (avec some guilt) the "corrected" bootleg Air Structures, and having the real deal is very important.  I know there was much work done in preparing this aural document, but my download has some issues, and I’m wondering if it’s me or has this occured for anyone else?  There is a gap between tracks 3-4, 4-5 and 6-7.  There is a noticable volume change between tracks 3-4, 4-5, 7-8 and 10-11.  I too am not happy about the abbreviated "Wind on Wind", and the abrupt end of "Index of Metals".  Can the producers have a look at these issues?  As I never trust my digital media, I will buy the tangible discs whenever they are made available, and hope these issues can be resolved for this occasion.  It would be great if the downloads could be repaired and offered again.  I’m very excited about the "Orchestral Soundscapes", when?


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsWind On Lava   January 7, 2011
Written by Backspacer
’Evening Star’ is my all time favorite record since i heard it the first time. I always thought it’s first half came a little bit too short, since I never was a very big fan of ’An Index For Metals’, which is compared to the first half, a very dark piece of music. Everybody who feels the same and always wanted more of the amazing tune ’Evening Star’, this here is for you. It is over 2 hours of the finest music ever recorded and Fripp & Eno at their ultimate peak. We get to hear the complete ’Evening Star’ record and many great improvisations. The sound quality is amazing too. I actually think I won’t need any other record no more, this one does it all. I can’t put it in words... You have to hear it yourself!


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsCD release ?   January 6, 2011
Written by fromheaven
This is such a fine release it should be out as a CD-set with liner-notes , new interviews with Brian Eno and Robert Fripp. Maybe try to find some who attended the concert. I would buy it at once.

Thanks a lot for a beautiful release.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsBuy it right now!   January 6, 2011
Written by Ukulele
I have friends no longer with us that would have loved this. This was the start of so much & it sounds like what the kids are doing with loop pedals today! This is art and still the future.  


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsThe BEST Fripp & Eno   January 4, 2011
Written by ebubier
Like many others I too have had various versions of this concert for many years. This release is far superior to any of those! The bonus disks of raw loops is an eye-opening wonder as well. As much as No Pussyfooting and Evening Star became part of my being over many years, this concert release is to my humble heart the best example of what Fripp and Eno’s tape loop work could be.

I will, however, echo the disappointment of others about the abridgment of Wind on Wind from 16 and a half minutes down to a little over 3 minutes. The excising of the French announcer’s request to put out cigarettes and to not flash photography also strips a bit of the human experience from the event. But these are mere quibbles. This is an important release. Thank you.

Now, as usual, I will again ask for the release of Fripp’s solo February 5, 1978 NYC  Kitchen show. It rivals this Paris show in my very prejudiced opinion.

Thank you. Keep up the good work.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 stars   January 4, 2011
Written by toddalcott1
Yesterday I didn’t know this recording existed. Today I don’t know how I lived without it. The Frippertronic concerts are some of my most sought-after recordings, and to have this show, where Frippertronics were born, as it were, is beyond valuable.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsthat's what you get for trying to stop French people from smoking   January 4, 2011
Written by emperornobody
Hearing this now I realize none of us can really claim to have heard it before on the muddy bootlegs of days gone by... Mr. Stormy sure has put Humpty Dumpty back together again with this little mash-up.  This must have taken months of work to reconstitute and Alex if you’re reading this thank you so much, I think I can die happy now.

The only quibbles I have are the disc break going into arguably the coolest transition of the whole set (I reassembled it to be seamless in Sound Forge 7, easy freezy to do) and the removal of the PA announcer coming on mid-set to inform the assembled that they need to put out their funny l’il Jazz Herbal cigarettes or be taken away to jail, or whatever he says LOL

But these are minor and insignificant quibbles... the inclusion of the raw loops as bonus material means I’d give this 6 stars if I could.  Really and truly, the playing is on fire throughout this set and you can really hear a lot of what RF must have been feeling at the time pouring through the humbuckers and into the Olympia... and did I just hear Eno playing a tape of little children in the background? Wow, that sure was inaudible on the past shoddy boot versions.

The only other criticism I can spuriously invent is that the Berlin Horse film was somehow left out of the download, for that vérité experience, you know?  Seriously folks, if you don’t download this all your friends might stop returning your phone calls, all your pens might run out of ink at once, your socks will cease to match, and -- most certainly of all -- your life will never stand any chance of being complete.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsAnagrams & Palindromes everywhere! Oh No!!   January 3, 2011
Written by James999
An Iron Frappe = Fripp Arn Eno?  (spoken like a deck swabbin’ Pirate maybe?)
Softy Gun Poison =   don’t know..here I’m stumpt.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsFive Stars in Paris   January 3, 2011
Written by DocBobster
I am quite familiar with two previous versions of this amazing concert. This new version is dramatically superior in clarity. (My only complaint is that it is so clean it gets too brittle at times.) Like another reviewer, I too really missed the french announcer asking people to stop smoking or taking pictures -- my French is poor and my memory is worse so I can’t remember which -- because it really added to the cinema verite of the recording. On the other hand, this new version is broken into separate tracks that make it much easier to distinguish the different phases of the improvisations, and I’m immediately noticing all sorts of things that were just indistinguishable mush in prior versions. Much as I love the studio albums, I would have to say that this is the definitive Fripp and Eno recording. An amazing performance and at the time, a remarkably bold one.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 stars   January 3, 2011
Written by rja1967

I’ve loved this gig since I first heard it many years ago and this Stormy-enhanced version is just splendid. This is Fripp and Eno really delivering the goods; moody, scary, beautiful, spacey and simply downright fantastic.

I imagine that many of us have had the various bootlegs of this concert for years. But this download is a significant step up from all of those. The test loops are a brilliant bonus too.  Thanks to everyone involved in bringing this performance back to life.

Only one question - where has the announcer (and a chunk of "Wind On Wind") gone? Whilst I can understand the reason for the edit - it does make for a more seamless listening experience - it might have been nice for us sad completists to have had this included too in some manner.

 


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsThis is it   January 3, 2011
Written by wildea
This is Robert at his best.  You can just feel the emotional connection he is having just letting it come out.  You hear him with no other interruptions, no conflict, no competition.  It is the muse speaking.


 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 starsOh my God, is full of stars!   January 3, 2011
Written by pinkmilk
I believe that everything that can be said about this "historical document"is simply a wonderful trip!


 

Audio Source: Bootleg Cassette And Quarter Inch Master Reel

DGM Audio Quality Rating:  out of 5 stars4 out of 5 stars4 out of 5 stars4 out of 5 stars4 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars

Average Customer Rating: out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars5 out of 5 stars6 out of 5 stars

Purchase
Download FLAC $15.95 (What is FLAC?)
Download MP3 $12.95

 

 

Submit a Review

This show's fan reviews

This show's band diaries

This show's press clippings

All reviews

 

Home | About DGM | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Help | RSS Feeds